Blood Orange Scones 

I recently visited a great roadside stand that had a great assortment of fresh local fruits, and vegetables. I was able to score a couple of pounds of blood oranges at an excellent price. Now, what to do with them?  I scoured the internet (okay, just Pinterest) for ideas, and mostly all that came up were cocktails. Now, I’ve been known to drink a blood orange old fashioned at rapid speed, but I needed something else to use quite a few of these up. I found an awesome recipe using the oranges to make BLOOD ORANGE SCONES. Oh hell yea. Now  up till this, I had never made scones before. How hard could it really be? Turns out, pretty freakin’ hard. I used this recipe  from A Happy Food Dance, and with a minor adjustment–I was very happy with the result.

I candied the blood orange slices the night before so that way they had plenty of time to cool. It also helped the syrup congeal a little, and made for a thicker (and brighter!) glaze the next day. So that said, the next day I got ready to prepare the 8 scones. The scones called for 1/2 cup of heavy cream, and 1 large egg;  compared to the rest of the dry ingredients–I found that once everything was mixed together. It was far too dry. Now, I know scones are inherently a little drier but the dough could barely hold together. It also seemed like awkward, clumpy sand if that’s any visual. I added just about another 1/4 cup of cream, and about half of a cracked egg (primarily using the white) to help mix in, and this created a much smoother, solid dough. The proof is seen below as I sliced up the dough round into the 8 pieces onto the baking sheet.

The baking time was very quick, and in that time–it was very easy to combine the sifted powdered sugar (ughhh that takes too much time), and the syrup. I added about an additional tablespoon of water to help thin it a little bit. I placed the warm scones on the cooling rack, and added the sugar, and slices of candied orange.

Overall, I still find baking to be a bit of a challenge for me. However, being able to play around with a recipe, and still see (and taste!) solid results make me feel like I’m really on the right track. Everyone who tasted these absolutely raved about them, and I’m looking forward to trying new recipes and combinations for scones. Do you have a favorite recipe? Or a tip to share on making these breakfast treats? Pass them my way!

 

Cheers,

L

2 thoughts on “Blood Orange Scones 

Leave a Reply

