21st Amendment Beer Cheese Spread

20140210-151703.jpg

I recently came across a Kentucky-style beer cheese dip that sounded incredibly savory, and tasty! I asked a few friends what styles of beer go best with specific cheeses, and hefeweizen was a common suggestion. I decided to change it up a little bit, and use 21st Amendment Sneak Attack Saison, which is easily my favorite beer from them. This recipe is super easy, and leaves plenty of room for creative interpretation. All it requires is a food processor!

1 cup of beer (I recommend letting it sit for a while to prevent foaming over in the processor)
2 lbs of sharp cheddar shredded
1 yellow onion minced
Sea Salt
Ground Black Pepper
Worcestershire Sauce
Hot Sauce

I first shredded cheese right into my food processor, and then added my onions. I then pulsed those for a few seconds, and added beer. Pulsed for an extra few until smooth. I added salt, pepper, and roughly about a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce all to taste. I added my favorite hot sauce, Chipotle Tabasco sauce as well. I then took a spoon to give a good mix throughout. I then pulsed for an extra minute. You can use any hard cheese, beer, and veggie you want! Get creative with it 🙂

This can be served immediately, however I highly recommend letting it sit 6-12 hours to let flavors combine, and let the spread set. I divide mine in half, some for immediate use up to 5 days, and the rest to be frozen in an airtight container with a layer of cling wrap inside.

Hope you enjoy this comfort snack as much as I do!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nuno says:

    In a sandwhich sounds fantastic cant wait to try that. Ya I usually always try a beer for the first time in a good beer glass, however, I have been known to knock back and few brew free or die ipas straight from the can.

  2. Nuno says:

    Lauren what do enjoy this spread with? Crackers, bread, chips? Also suprised you like this Saison so much, I love 21A and Saisons but his one seemed real blah to me, I will have to give it another try!

    1. I loved it with crackers, and granny smith apples! I also have tried it on sandwiches, preferably cold ones. Do you pour your 21A beers, or drink straight from the can? I tried it both ways, and I always recommend that it’s better poured out!

Leave a Reply

