Looking Back on 2013

This past year was filled with wonderful beers, brewery tours, and adventures. I have been incredibly fortunate to have a partner, who encourages my blogging, and also takes me to breweries, festivals, or brings home a surprise. I really enjoyed writing out my top 5 beers each month this past year, and wanted to change my format as I looked back on the past year. I did not write much about my beer festivals, events, and special moments and so I decided to make a top 5 of the best events I attended this year.

Top 5 Best Craft Beer Moments

1. Sierra Nevada Single Fresh Wet & Wild
This was the best event I went to this year. K and I were able to try beers from all over the country, and many were not available in Northern California at all. Many breweries also brought some really rare stuff, which made it extra special. Did I mention there was also a taco buffet?! Win.

2. SF BreastFest
This was a great charity festival I was able to go with a close friend of mine. Fort Mason has a beautiful view of the bay, so great beer, food, and company..what more could I ask for?! I was also able to Kim of KimsBayBrews, and I’m so lucky that friendship has grown!

3. Beer Dinners
I had the fortune of attending, AND hosting beer dinners this past year. K and I attended a dinner for High Water Brewing, as well as a cooking class with them. I organized my first pairing at the bar where I work with Bison Brewing, which was a fantastic project! From these two events, some people who I look up to, I developed real life friendships with, and that has made it even better.

4. Stockton Beer Week
K single handedly organized every SBW event for our bar, which was a memorable, and liver damaging experience for all. He also planned Stockton’s first festival, which was a great success. I am so proud of all of his efforts, and the networking he was able to develop from it.

5. The Generosity of the Craft Community
I am so impressed how craft beer has expanded both in my home state, and nation wide. The way that community overrides competition, and is far more collaborative. From brewers, to beer geeks alike, I have had nothing but positive experiences. From generous bottle shares, gifts, conversations, and private tours, I am truly lucky. I hope all of you feel, and have experienced similar things. I cannot wait for the opportunities, and beers to try this year!

I hope you all had a beery new year, and I wish you all the best this year! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

