Sierra Nevada Tap Takeovers

April was a very busy month for the bar I work at, and in my own personal life and beer adventures. Two weeks back to back, I attended two Sierra Nevada tap takeovers. One was at my place of work, The Abbey Trappist Pub, and the other was at burger in Santa Cruz, California. Sadly, at the Abbey, I was not able to get any pictures as it was RIDICULOUSLY packed with excited beer drinkers. I was able to drink over the night, and next day these following beers: Hoptimum Imperial IPA, Narwhal Imperial Stout, Keller Weiss Hefe Weizen, 2013 Bigfoot Barley Wine, Summerfest Lager, Foam Pilsner, Belgian Blonde IPA, and Ovila Barrel-Aged Dubbel. The Hoptimum was incredibly fresh, and recently kegged so it was definitely a favourite amongst everyone. Proof was that it tapped out the same night! A rarity at our bar. I’ve always loved Narwhal so that was my favourite by far.

The following week, K, a friend, and I all attended a nearly 47 tap takeover at burger in Santa Cruz. It’s a great local burger/hot dog spot with a creative menu, and a great selection of craft beer. It was great that with this big of a selection, we could order flights to sample a lot of the beers. Here’s an example:

20130427-084421.jpg

At the event, I was able to try: Eighty-Six’d, Anything Gose, Black Eye PA, Cabin Fever, Ch Ch Cherry Bomb, French Saison, Hop Bam, Hop Harmony, Hop Secret 644, Knightro Irish Stout, Knotty Wood, On The Rocks Scotch, Ovila Barrel Aged Quad, Simmer Down Brown, and Two Headed Ruthless Rye. My favourites out of this were the French Saison (what can I say? I’m a sucker for farmhouse!), and the Cabin Fever, a heavy pine flavoured ale from the masterminds at Beer Camp. Overall, it was a really great event with the great food (I had the Nate Dogg- a chili cheese smothered hot dog), and a great host, Nicole, from Sierra Nevada. She’s another great lady who is expanding the Sierra Nevada brand, and breaking down walls for women who also want to be a part of the industry as well. I definitely hope to go to burger again the next time I’m in Santa Cruz, great food and great beer! What more can a gal ask for?

Leave a Reply

